Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: My GC Experiences  (Read 3616 times)
GCnightmares

View Profile Email
« on: May 18, 2015, 06:50:38 AM »

Well, I must be a slow learner.  I have many horror stories of GC shopping, and  even now I think I've given them the benefit of the doubt too many times.  Get a comfortable seat and a bottle of your favorite adult beverage, this is gonna be a long read.

Incident #1: In my college days, I was a new player and had a Fender Frontman 1x12 amp.  I was concerned something internal was malfunctioning.  After this whole ordeal, I discovered the problem was actually coming from my multi-fx pedal, but I was a total noob at this point.  The point is, that means this amp was in perfect condition - zero cosmetic or external damage, and still functioned perfectly despite my confusion.  So I take the amp to my local GC, and ask them if they fix amps (this is not the place I bought it).  They take a look at it, see its condition, but say no, they dont fix amps, and refer me to a local place that does.  Fair enough at this point.  So I take my amp in and drop it off at this place, which turns out to be not only an authorized repair center for many brands, but also the biggest backline and sound rental place in town.  Describe my problem, leave the amp, done.  Fast forward two months and a phone call every couple weeks to see what's up, finally ready.  I go in and the prick at the front desk tells me oh yeah, we had a look at it, Fender never sent us the schematics though, so we gave it a once over and didn't see anything wrong.  Oh, by the way, it fell off our tech's bench while he was working on it, and it landed on its face and the jewel light is broken.  Keeping in mind I know nothing technical about amps at this point, he goes on to tell me that the preamp section is still functioning fine, but the output transformer isn't working now either.  I thought he meant something in the effects loop, which I didn't use, so not the end of the world I g